IMG_6868.heic

Superintendent's Message

Mask up! Let's get ready to learn. 

Levanger, Norway 

To Our School Community, 

              Thank you for inviting me into your lives and trusting me with the essential task of overseeing the education of our students. I believe that education is the platform that will allow our students to thrive in our ever-changing world. To compete in a world that we can only begin to imagine, students must learn the skills necessary to flourish post-graduation.

             

             Our community of educators has come together to explore ways of creating competitive pathways for our students. Whether college or trade school, students must be given the tools to become independent and global thinkers.

 

             As a resident of North River, my family is constantly humbled by your generosity. Flower garlands, fresh eggs, and baked goods are a few things we have been gifted with. Through these community interactions, it is apparent that the valley of North River prides itself in sustainable agricultural practices.

             

             As the leader of the school, I feel that it is important to expose our students to multiple ways of life. This includes opportunities for field trips, foreign exchange, language learning…etc. As a sixteen-year-old, I packed my bags and moved to Norway. Going from a city to living on a farm opened my eyes to a different type of life and cultural practices. This experience allowed me to see beyond my previous experiences and decide what path would be right for me. In turn, I am a strong advocate for nurturing our students to be global citizens.

              Our school community consists of our amazing staff and student body. Let us be reminded that each staff member and student bring their unique experiences and life circumstances to the table. As we are here for every student, it is our role to teach dialogue and discussion that will enhance our abilities to accept differences that extend beyond what we know. Thank you for entrusting me with this critical role.

Mrs. Maehlum

lmaehlum@nr.k12.wa.us

Superintendent | Principal 

*Jeg snakker norsk*

Meet Our Staff

Teacher: Pre-K 3-4 & Kindergarten

Mrs. Nelson 
tnelson@nr.k12.wa.us

Teacher: 1st & 2nd Grades

Mrs. Brock 
mbrock@nr.k12.wa.us

Teacher: 4th & 5th Grades

Mrs. Nelson
 jnelson@nr.k12.wa.us

Teacher: 1st-5th Grades, Math

Mr. Pierson
 spierson@nr.k12.wa.us

Athletic Director & Teacher: 6th-12th Grades, Math and Science 

Mr. Farnell 
dfarnell@nr.k12.wa.us

Teacher: 6th-12th Grades, 

 Math and Science 

Mr. Clausen
 tclausen@nr.k12.wa.us

Teacher: 6th-12th Grades,  

Social Studies 

Teacher: Shop, Small Engine Repair, Business and Agriculture 

Mrs. Beyer
 kbeyer@nr.k12.wa.us

Teacher: 6th-12th Grades, 

English Language Arts 

Teacher: Physical Education & Special Education

Mrs. Johnson 
hjohnson@nr.k12.wa.us

Teacher: Art, Music, & French

*Je parle français*

Mrs. Fuquay 
afuquay@nr.k12.wa.us

Paraeducator: PreK 3-4 & Kindergarten 

Mrs. Watters 
jwatters@nr.k12.wa.us

Paraeducator: Special Education

Paraeducator: Special Education

*hablo español*

School Cook

*hablo español*

Mrs. Pratt (Pama)
ppratt@nr.k12.wa.us

Business Manager &

Human Resources

Mrs. Peterson
 jpeterson@nr.k12.wa.us

Food Service Director, Foster & Homeless Care Liaison,

Civil Rights Coordinator

Mr. Fuquay 
jfuquay@nr.k12.wa.us

Transportation and Maintenance Director

Mrs. Coulter 
scoulter@nr.k12.wa.us  

Bus Driver & Custodian

Custodian

Mrs. Poukkula
dpoukka@nr.k12.wa.us

Bus Driver

Mr. Rodriguez
jrodriguez@nr.k12.wa.us  

Behavioral Facilitator &

Student Services

*hablo español*

Contact Us

© 2020 by North River School District. Proudly created with Wix.com

Tel: (360) 532-3079 

Email: admin@nr.k12.wa.us

Address

2867 North River Road

Cosmopolis, WA 98537